A different “season” greetings altogether! :)


Come December, Christmas becomes the talk of the town everywhere… But not in Chennai, where, Music and Arts take the centre stage this season. Marghazhi season (Mid December to mid January) has been one important aspect of chennai’s culture.

Moods of Margazhi-one of the music and dance festival in chennai

Moods of Margazhi-one of the music and dance festival in Chennai

Chilly mornings, morning poojas at the temples, frequent sightings of dancers fully dressed in traditional dance costumes for performances, ladies clad in silk sarees visiting the sabhas to catch their favourite artistes performing are a regular sight in Chennai during this season. And this is one season I always look forward to. 🙂

With just a week vacation this term there isn’t enough time for watching all the dance shows and carnatic music katcheries that I want to watch 😦 But being able to attend atleast some of it has made me happy 😀 …Because after being away from Chennai getting a whiff of the music, dance and the traditional foods served at the canteens in Sabhas has made me feel ‘back to my roots’.

I watched the group dance performance by my dance class friends yesterday. It has only make me feel more and more bad about not being able to attend these classes which actually was an integral part of my growing up 🙂 Though I think I’m not a great dancer myself, I enjoy the dance and miss the classes which relieves me of the stress and makes me happy 🙂

I have a couple more dance performances of my friends and some dramas to catch up with this week.  Also there is a lecture-demonstration by my dance teacher (Smt. Anitha Guha Aunty) this Sunday morning where she will show some demonstrations from the dance dramas which has been staged by “Bharathanjali” (my dance school) for the past 10-15 years. This is one that I would never want to miss. With that it would be back to trichy and a new term starts when the year ends 😉

Bharathnatyam

406729_10151201877322979_1276953831_n

Now that’s all about this festive season and Chennai for you guys 🙂 Hope you guys are also enjoying a wonderful winter vacation. Wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy happy 2013 😀 I hope this year is better than 2012 for all of us 🙂

Merry Christmas and Happy 2013

Cheers!

cp

Leave a Reply

